Speak Louder

I want our political representatives to speak louder.
I want them to speak in bothys. I want them to speak louder and longer. I want our political representatives to speak poetry. Not just reference a pop song, or use a pun based on a famous Shakespeare quote. I want our politicial representatives to be free to date to think further and wider than the manifesto and the pre-election policy. I want them to have to stretch so far they have to reach for poetry to get a grasp on what they’re trying to say. I want our political representatives to have to try and articulate what is difficult to articulate

for

we act all the time based on things that are difficult to articulate, like love, honour, friendship

and

we fail to act all the time on commitments, promises and assurances that are all too easy to articulate.

I want our political representatives to struggle. I want us to struggle too. I want speeches that can’t be broken down into handy nuggets to be viewed out of context. I want to hear a speech thathasn’t already had its soundbites circulated around the papers before it is even delivered. I want a speech to be to some people. I want a speech that is actually addressed to the people present. A speech not designed for a bulletin.

I want our political representatives to sometimes be lost for words

so we won’t be.

I want our political representatives to leave space and give space and not simply take place. I want them to struggle and I want us to struggle. This is an ask not just for our political representatives but for ourselves. A speech that can’t be broken down into handy chunks requires actually reading it or hearing it. A speech that tells a story, engages the heart and mind must be recreated in full, given deep analysis or failing that we’d actually have to be present.

We demand our political representatives to be politicians and to work at a pace that dulls them and dulls us to where we are heading.

I want them to stop.

And start again.

And speak louder.

Leave a Reply

